Super Ape Returns To Conquer

1 035 грн

Артикул: EB43368 Категория:
Год выпуска




Состояние пластинки (-ок)

Доступно для предзаказа


Perry,Lee Scratch & Subatomic Sound System – Super Ape Returns To Conquer [New Vinyl]

Title: Super Ape Returns To Conquer

Format: Vinyl

Genre: International

UPC: 4015698013320

Condition: New

Release Date: 2017

Record Label: Echo Beach

Album Tracks

1. Zion’s Blood
2. Dread Lion
3. War Ina Babylon
4. Chase the Devil
5. Patience
6. Super Ape
7. Curly Dub (Sing Along Jah Jah Children)
8. Underground Roots
9. Three in One (Go Deya)
10. Dub Along

1. New Ark Subatomic Energy
2. Zion’s Blood
3. Chase the Devil
4. War Ina Babylon
5. Dread Lion
6. Patience Dub
7. Super Ape
8. Curly Dub (Sing Along Jah Jah Children)
9. Underground Roots
10. Dub Along
11. Three in One (Go Deya)
12. So It Conquer
13. Croaking Lizard (Dubstrumental Mix)
14. Black Vest (Dubstrumental Mix)
15. Super Ape (Dubstrumental Mix)
16. Dread Lion (Dubstrumental Mix)

41 years later, Lee Scratch” Perry uses today’s sound system to revisit his classic Black Ark album that defined Jamaican dub music, reincarnating the magic for the sound system generation. Big question about it: “How do you improve on a masterpiece?” Lee “Scratch” Perry defined dub music with his seminal 1976 Super Ape album, and he returns with New York City’s Subatomic Sound System to conquer again, definitively reincarnating the magic of his Black Ark studio in Jamaica, heavy on Ethiopian horns and percussion, while reinvigorating it with the 21st century booming bass and beats that capture the energy of their innovative live electronic show. Largely known as the mentor to Bob Marley, Perry’s influence has transcended reggae. Since 2010, he has toured with NYC’s Subatomic Sound System, his go-to band for recreating his Black Ark studio sound live on stage, in new exciting ways as a one-of-a-kind hybrid of beat heavy electronics and live musicians, including original Black Ark studio percussionist Larry McDonald. Subatomic Sound System has been pushing the envelope of electronic music in combination with reggae since their inception in 1999. In dub, Lee “Scratch” Perry is a star at organizing and remixing the music with drum and bass in the forefront and tweaking knobs and faders, adding effects like a jazz improvisation. In the 1970s, the idea of a producer as a star, rather than a singer or musician, seemed crazy, but looking across the world of star DJ producers, he is rightly acknowledged as a visionary as well. There are many stories to be told, but this album follows on the mission of the tour which has the goal of reaching out to old fans and new fans. As sound system culture continues to expand globally with reggae and beyond, these are DJ-friendly heavyweight versions of Scratch material that makes sense in the 21st century. “Scratch” started his music career as a dancer so he loves to get a party started even at 81. The album shows that Scratch was 40 years ahead of his time with Super Ape, and that at 81, he’s more relevant to youth culture than ever. The original “Burning Man”, “Scratch” was called “the Salvador Dali of music” by Keith Richards and Bounty Killer hailed him as “the greatest Jamaican artist of all time”. Features: Jahdan Blakkamoore, Screechy Dan, and Ari Up of The Slits. Includes download code; Edition of 999.

Дополнительная информация

Год выпуска




Состояние пластинки (-ок)